Our experienced team guides clients through the legal, regulatory and reputational challenges such situations present.

We assist clients to deal with regulatory concerns upfront, ensuring good governance and the avoidance of potential enforcement action. Where enforcement action is initiated, we assist clients with the process from investigation through to, if required, settlement.

Our Regulatory Investigations team draws from the combined resources of our Financial Services, Litigation and Dispute Resolution, Governance, EU and Competition and Technology and Data Privacy teams.

Experience

  • Advising regulated financial services providers on the Central Bank’s Administrative Sanctions Procedure.
  • Providing senior officers of regulated entities with independent advice on the Administrative Sanctions Procedure.
  • Advising senior executives of regulated entities on the Central Bank’s fitness and probity requirements and the Senior Executive Accountability Regime.
  • Advising on the scope of Management Liability/D&O insurance policies concerning investigations carried out by the Central Bank, the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement, the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau and other authorities to include the ‘Anglo’ investigations and trials.
  • Acting for senior executives in investigations carried out by the Central Bank to include the ‘Tracker Mortgage Examination’.
  • Acting on behalf of regulated entities in claims seeking Orders for Judgment before the High Court.
  • Advising senior executives who were required to give evidence before Oireachtas inquiries to include the ‘DIRT Inquiry’ and the ‘Banking Inquiry’.
  • Acting for senior executives the subject of criminal investigations carried out by the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement and the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau.
  • Advising corporates, executives and professionals on their reporting obligations to An Garda Siochana under Section 19 of the Criminal Justice Act 2011 and under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010.
Head of Practice
Photo of Adrian Mulryan

Adrian Mulryan

Partner

amulryan@lkshields.ie
+353 1 6385862


More from our Regulatory Investigations team

Photo of Adrian Mulryan

Adrian Mulryan

Partner

amulryan@lkshields.ie
+353 1 6385862

Photo of Trevor Dolan

Trevor Dolan

Partner

tdolan@lkshields.ie
+353 1 637 1549

Photo of Eamon Jones

Eamon Jones

Partner

ejones@lkshields.ie
+353 1 6385854

Photo of Jeanne Kelly

Jeanne Kelly

Partner

jkelly@lkshields.ie
+353 1 637 1530

Photo of Ian Lavelle

Ian Lavelle

Partner

ilavelle@lkshields.ie
+353 1 6385823

Photo of Marco Hickey

Marco Hickey

Partner

mhickey@lkshields.ie
+ 353 1 637 1522

Photo of Peter Bolger

Peter Bolger

Partner

pbolger@lkshields.ie
+353 1 638 5877

Photo of Ciarán Markey

Ciarán Markey

Partner

cmarkey@lkshields.ie
+ 353 1 637 1540

Photo of David Naughton

David Naughton

Partner

dnaughton@lkshields.ie
+353 1 637 1585

Photo of Muireann Granville

Muireann Granville

Associate Solicitor

mgranville@lkshields.ie
+353 1 637 1576

Photo for article Regulatory Privilege

Regulatory Privilege

by Muireann Granville

By using this website you allow us to place cookies on your computer. Our cookies do not personally identify you.